Services

How Much Does App Development Cost? Taiwan 2026 Prices From NT$150K to NT$1.5M Explained: Flutter vs Native, and 7 Items Quotes Often Leave Out

2026.10.04 · 39 views
How Much Does App Development Cost? Taiwan 2026 Prices From NT$150K to NT$1.5M Explained: Flutter vs Native, and 7 Items Quotes Often Leave Out
“

An owner asked three vendors and got app development quotes from NT$150K to NT$1.2M. What explains the gap? A price range table, Flutter vs native cost comparison, full cost breakdown and seven items quotes often omit help Taiwanese SMBs judge whether a budget is reasonable, plus a 10-question checklist. ”

Share:

Short answer: In Taiwan in 2026, a simple showcase app costs about NT$150–300K, an app with membership and payments about NT$400–800K, and a platform with a back office, real-time features and multiple roles NT$1–1.5M or more. Building cross-platform with Flutter usually saves 30–40% versus separate native iOS and Android apps.

A bakery chain wanted a membership app and asked three vendors: A quoted NT$150K, B NT$480K and C NT$1.2M. The owner's first reaction was that C was overcharging; the second was whether A could even deliver. In fact the three quotes were for different things: A covered only front-end screens, B included a back office and payments, and C built separate native iOS and Android apps with a year of maintenance. Before comparing app development costs, put all quotes on one table.

App development cost ranges

Bottom line: price is driven by feature complexity and the back office, not the number of screens.

TypeTypical featuresCost rangeTimeline
ShowcaseBrand info, news, store map, pushNT$150–300K6–8 weeks
MembershipSign-up, points, coupons, LINE login, back officeNT$400–800K3–4 months
CommerceCart, payments, logistics, order managementNT$600K–1.2M4–6 months
PlatformMultiple roles (buyers, stores, couriers), live location, chatNT$1–1.5M+6+ months

Flutter vs native: how costs differ

Bottom line: about 80% of SMB apps are fine with Flutter; go native only for heavy hardware or special performance needs.

ItemFlutter cross-platformiOS + Android native
CodebaseOne, shared by both platformsTwo, built separately
Build costBaselineAbout 1.5–1.8×
MaintenanceChange once, both updateEvery change twice
Best forMembership, commerce, booking, internal toolsHeavy Bluetooth hardware, AR, games

Full cost breakdown: where the money goes

Bottom line: app development is only about 60–70% of the total; the rest is back office, publishing, hosting and maintenance.

  • Planning and UI design: about 10–15%, producing flows and a clickable prototype.
  • App front end: about 35–45%, depending on screens and interactions.
  • Back office and API: about 25–35%, the part low quotes most often skip.
  • Payments and third-party integrations: ECPay, LINE login, push and so on, about NT$20–50K each; payments also carry per-transaction fees.
  • Store accounts: the Apple Developer Program is US$99 a year and a Google Play developer account is a one-time US$25; register them in your company's name.
  • Hosting and database: about NT$1,000–5,000 a month.
  • Annual maintenance: about 15–20% of the build fee, covering OS updates and fixes.

As an example, ScriptWalker (a Taiwan-based Laravel/Flutter custom development studio) publishes starting prices: websites from NT$15,000, systems from NT$80,000 and apps from NT$150,000. Starting prices cover a showcase or minimum viable version; actual quotes list every feature line by line.

7 items quotes often leave out

Bottom line: a cheap quote is usually not a saving; it is less work.

  • Back office: only app screens quoted; admin billed separately.
  • Store review fixes: who pays when Apple rejects the app is not stated.
  • OS updates: iOS and Android change yearly; without updates the app may be blocked from stores.
  • Code ownership: not specified, so you cannot get it when switching vendors.
  • Device test scope: tested on one or two phones, complaints after launch.
  • Hosting: free in year one, quoted only in year two.
  • Templates: low prices often mean a modified template that must be rebuilt once customized.

Checklist: is your app development cost reasonable?

Bottom line: three or more "no" answers out of 10 means don't sign yet; ask the vendor to clarify.

  • ☐ The quote lists features item by item
  • ☐ The back office is included
  • ☐ It states Flutter or native, and why
  • ☐ Store accounts are in our company's name
  • ☐ Code and data ownership are in the contract
  • ☐ Payments and acceptance are staged
  • ☐ Warranty and annual maintenance fees are stated
  • ☐ Hosting and third-party monthly fees are listed
  • ☐ Device test scope is agreed
  • ☐ The vendor offers reference clients you can call

FAQ

What is the minimum cost of an app?

A showcase app in Taiwan starts around NT$150K. With membership, payments and a back office, expect NT$400–800K.

Why is a custom app more expensive than a template?

Features, back office and data follow your process and can keep growing; templates are cheap but small changes may force a rebuild.

What does an app cost each year after launch?

Maintenance of about 15–20% of the build fee, plus Apple's US$99 yearly fee and hosting of about NT$1,000–5,000 a month.

Is a Flutter app lower quality?

No. Membership, commerce and booking apps built with Flutter feel close to native; go native only for heavy hardware features.

Free quote and contact

Bottom line: send us a list of the features you want, and within 3 working days we will reply with an itemized app development cost and timeline, plus which features can wait for phase two.

Share: